Upgrading from Windows8 Developer to Consumer Preview will lose your settings.
Even when running the Windows setup from within Windows, this is the option you get when upgrading from Windows8 developer preview to Consumer Preview. What a User Friendly screen! If I can “chose” what I want to upgrade, why only give me one option – which is nothing? Interestingly I could keep settings if I was upgrading from Windows7 – so it’s weird how you can’t keep settings from the Developer preview to the consumer preview. The Windows 8 faq has a table of what can be kept when upgrading from previous versions of Windows.
|Current operating system||What you can keep|
|Windows 8 Consumer Preview||
|Windows Developer Preview||
It might be a good idea to have the upgrade options within the application itself and not as a link to an external website – this way the user gets to see what options they have.